100 Word Fiction #13: At The Station

***

“It was the accident at San Luis,” she said. “You know, the meltdown? Yes, everybody knows about the meltdown. Well, I have a friend who rears chickens out there, and this one got caught in the fallout as an egg. When it hatched, they were going to destroy it, and I couldn’t have that. The poor thing, it was just a baby! So I told them, let me take it home, and raise it as my own. And they did.”

“I understand that, Lady–Ma’am– I understand, and it was very honorable of you, but the fact remains that I cannot allow you to walk your six-ton carnivorous dinosaur down the streets of LA.”

***

Leave a Reply

